Winner of the BBC Radio Entertainment Contract Writer Titheridge Prize, Paul writes and script-edits for many comedies for BBC TV, Sky and other channels. He was on the British Comedy Award-winning writing team for Miranda, and has written on each series of Lee Mack’s sitcom Not Going Out, among other shows. He won the ITV Take the Mike Award in 2002 and has been described as “Ingenious” by the Evening Standard and “****ing funny” by Ricky Gervais. Paul is also one of the few to perform stand-up at both comedy clubs and churches, in bearpits and pulpits, as well as contributing regular “Pause For Thought” slots on Chris Evans’ Radio 2 Breakfast Show.



Winner: ITV’s Take The Mike stand-up comedy award

Finalist: BBC New Comedy Awards

Finalist: Wilkinson Sword Cutting Edge of Comedy

Finalist: Daily Telegraph Open Mic Award

UK clubs (Comedy Store, The Glee, Komedia, Jongleurs, Highlight, etc)

Montreal Comedy Festival

Monte Carlo




Edinburgh Festival (solo shows 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2015)

Support for Milton Jones’ and Men In Coats’ theatrical tours





2021 – Andy and the Band, CBBC (writer)

2006-2022 – Not Going Out (writer)

2020 – Spitting Image, Britbox (writer)

2017 – The Royal Variety Performance (writer)

2017 – A yet-to-be-announced animation (writer)

2016 – Buble at the BBC, BBC1 (writer)

2016 – Top Gear, BBC1 (writer)

2007-ongoing forever – Not Going Out, BBC1 (co-writer) – RTS Award winner, Best Sitcom

2015 – TFI Friday, Channel 4/Zimple Productions (programme associate)

2008-2020 – Miranda, BBC1 (co-writer) – British Comedy Award winner, Best New Comedy

2013 – The Quiet Men, ITV (writer) – pilot for Ant & Dec

2013 – Up The Women, BBC4 (additional material)

2013 – From The Heart, ITV (writer) – live charity campaign

2012 – The Revolting World of Stanley Brown, CBBC (additional material)

2012 – B841 Sketch Show, Aardman Animations (additional material)

2011 – Lee Mack’s All-Star Cast, BBC/Zeppotron (associate producer)

2011 – Comedy Rocks with Jason Manford, ITV (associate producer)

2011 – In With The Flynns, Caryn Mandaback Productions (additional material)

2010 – Dirty Sexy Funny, Tiger Aspect (co-writer)

2010-2011 – Lunch Monkeys, Channel K (script editor)

2009 – Silver Acres, Aficionado (script editor)

2008 – Headcases, ITV1 (co-writer)

2008 – The Wrong Door, BBC3, dir Ben Wheatley (script editor)

2008 – Scallywagga, BBC3 (script editor)

2007 – Taking The Flak, BBC2 (script editor)

2007-08 – After You’ve Gone, BBC1 (co-writer)

2006 – Trexx & Flipside, BBC3 (co-writer)